Prestigious medical groups denounce health care vote

Many of the country’s most respected doctors’ groups and consumer health organizations are decrying Thursday’s vote in the House for a Republican health care bill that could cut health benefits for millions of Americans.

The bill, which passed by a narrow margin, is an amended version of the American Health Care Act (AHCA), a GOP plan to replace the Affordable Care Act, also known as Obamacare.

Within hours of the vote, many of the country’s top medical organizations representing hundreds of thousands of physicians and doctors in training, made public statements and spoke out on social media.

“Our organizations, which represent over 560,000 physicians and medical students, are deeply disappointed that the U.S. House of Representatives today passed the American Health Care Act (AHCA), an inherently flawed bill that would do great harm to our patients,” a joint statement from six medical groups whose members include family physicians, pediatricians, obstetricians, gynecologists, osteopathic physicians, psychiatrists and medical students said.

The six organizations that teamed up on the statement noted their members are the frontline physicians who provide physical and mental health care services to millions of Americans every day; the groups are:

  • American Academy of Family Physicians
  • American Academy of Pediatrics
  • American College of Physicians
  • American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
  • American Psychiatric Association American
  • American Osteopathic Association

Despite their efforts to educate lawmakers prior to the vote about the implications of the Trump-endorsed legislation, the organizations said, “Regrettably, the AHCA, as amended and passed by the House, violates our principles, dramatically increasing costs for older individuals, resulting in millions of people losing their health care coverage, and returning to a system that allows insurers to discriminate against people with pre-existing conditions. “

The bill will now head to the Senate, where lawmakers…

Read the full article from the Source…

Back to Top