Governor General invests Order of Canada recipients – Politics

Gov. Gen. David Johnston presided over an investiture ceremony for recipients of the Order of Canada at Rideau Hall Friday morning.

Forty-five distinguished Canadians joined the order or were promoted to a higher rank within the order, which this year marks its 50th anniversary.


Ellen Bialystok, O.C.- Toronto, Ont.

John Richard English, O.C.- Kitchener and Toronto, Ont. (This is a promotion within the Order.)

Jean-Pierre Ferland, O.C., C.Q.- Montréal, Que.

Eduardo L. Franco, O.C.- Montréal, Que.

Serge Godin, O.C., O.Q.- Montréal, Que. (This is a promotion within the Order.)

John McGarry, O.C.- Kingston, Ont.

Former Olympic hockey gold medalist Cassie Campbell-Pascal was among those invested as a member of the Order of Canada. (Adrian Wyld/Canadian Press)


Michael Adams, C.M.- Toronto, Ont.

Marguerite Andersen, C.M.- Toronto, Ont.

Leonard A. Bateman, C.M., O.M.- Winnipeg, Man.

Françoise Baylis, C.M., O.N.S.- Halifax, N.S.

Pierre-Michel Bouchard, C.M.- Québec, Que.

Peter Bregg, C.M.- Toronto, Ont.

Cassie Campbell-Pascall, C.M.- Calgary, Alta.

Mariette Carrier-Fraser, C.M.- Ottawa, Ont.

Harold Everett Chapman, C.M.- Saskatoon, Sask.

Neena L. Chappell, C.M.- Victoria, B.C.

Michael David Dan, C.M., O.Ont.- Toronto, Ont.

Patricia Demers, C.M.- Edmonton, Alta.

William Arthur Downe, C.M.- Toronto, Ont.

Carole Anne Estabrooks, C.M.- Edmonton, Alta.

John Foerster, C.M.- Winnipeg, Man.

Gloria Margaret Gutman, C.M., O.B.C.- Vancouver, B.C.

Gregory Hanson, C.M.- Winnipeg, Man.

Diane Juster, C.M.- Montréal, Que.

Ignat Kaneff, C.M., O.Ont.- Mississauga, Ont.

Michael Charles Klein, C.M.- Vancouver, B.C.

Shar Levine, C.M.- Vancouver, B.C.

Mark Levine, C.M.- Hamilton, Ont.

Janice (Kahehti:io) Longboat, C.M.- Six Nations Reserve, Ont.

‘We have a big job to do’7:33

Steve Lurie, C.M.- Toronto, Ont.

Joseph Mancini, C.M. and Stephanie Mancini, C.M.- Kitchener, Ont.

Robert Marleau, C.M.- Carleton Place, Ont.

Roger L. Martin, C.M.- Toronto, Ont.

Richard Ian Guy Morrison, C.M.- Ottawa, Ont.

The Honourable Graydon Nicholas, C.M., O.N.B.- Fredericton, N.B.

Shane O’Dea, C.M., O.N.L.- St. John’s, N.L.

Robert Pace, C.M.- Halifax, N.S.

Eric L. Peterson, C.M.- Heriot Bay, B.C.

Michel Picher, C.M.- Ottawa, Ont.

Kent Roach, C.M.- Toronto, Ont.

Howard Warren Rundle, C.M.- London, Ont.

Ilkay Silk, C.M.- Fredericton, N.B.

David Vaver, C.M.- Toronto, Ont.

The Honourable Howard Wetston, C.M., Q.C.- Toronto, Ont.

Prepared remarks by the Gov. Gen.

I begin by acknowledging that this gathering is taking place on the traditional territory of the Algonquin peoples.

Welcome, everyone, to Rideau Hall!

You may have noticed the vibrant, upbeat, classically modern tune that was played when you walked in.

Don’t try to place the music, though, as it’s making its world debut right here!

To mark the 50th…

Read the full article from the Source…

Back to Top